Algebraic reasoning is often promoted through an analysis of and generalizations about patterns that appear in mathematics, in nature, or in everyday situations (Driscoll 1999; Kieran 2006; Lee 1996). In accordance with this tendency, the Common Core (CCSSI 2010) emphasizes finding patterns and expressing such regularity in repeated reasoning as an important mathematical practice. NCTM (2000) also recommends that students participate in patterning activities by asking them to describe numeric and geometric patterns; generalize patterns to predict what comes next while providing a rationale for their predictions; and represent patterns in multiple ways, including drawings, tables, symbols, and graphs.

Supplementary Materials

    • Supplemental Materials (PDF 2.60 MB)

Notes

Edited by Marilyn Howard, marilyn-howard@utulsa.edu, University of Tulsa, Oklahoma; Christine Kincaid Dewey, dewey@wcskids.net, Macomb Mathematics Science Technology Center, Warren, Michigan; and Hiroko K. Warshauer, hiroko@txstate.edu, Texas State University, San Marcos.

Contributor Notes

Terri L. Kurz, terri.kurz@asu.edu, is an associate professor and teaches mathematics content courses to preservice teachers at Arizona State University in Tempe. Her research focuses on using tools and technology to increase understanding of mathematical concepts.

Mi Yeon Lee, mlee115@asu.edu, is an assistant professor and teaches mathematics content and methodology courses to preservice teachers at Arizona State University. Her research interests include students' algebraic thinking, the use of technology and tools in mathematics education, and teacher knowledge and noticing.

Sarah Leming, sleming@asu.edu, teaches high school at TECCA virtual school in Canton, Massachusetts.

Wendy Landis, wlandis@asu.edu, teaches mathematics and science at Kyrene Aprende Middle School in Chandler, Arizona.

(Corresponding author is Kurz terri.kurz@asu.edu)
(Corresponding author is Lee mlee115@asu.edu)
(Corresponding author is Leming sleming@asu.edu)
(Corresponding author is Landis wlandis@asu.edu)
Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School
All Time Past Year Past 30 Days
Abstract Views 11 11 1
Full Text Views 0 0 0
PDF Downloads 0 0 0
EPUB Downloads 0 0 0